Cainmark’s Cave Scratchings

Primarily playing around with my fiction writing trying to avoid editing as I write

  • Pages

  • my del.icio.us links

  • Meta

  • Blog Stats

    • 248 hits
  • Cainmark's Flickr Photos

  • Text 1

    This is text widget 1.

Taught someone a lesson the other day.

Posted by cainmark on 2009 06 13, Sat

200090603 10:55 Wednesday

Around10:45-11:00 on Wednesday, June 3, 2009, I was driving my bicycle (I was wearing my orange vinyl vest that says “Share the Road, Follow Road Rules, Alabama code 32 Section 5a”), along Pratt Ave. toward Andrew Jackson Way, just after the spot where the Sonic is, a black car in bad need of a muffler zoomed past me in the left lane very loudly and I could hear the car operator yell, “Get on the [expletive deleted] sidewalk!” then he cut to the right at Dement. Ignorance about the law regarding bicycles rights and responsibilities bothers me, but not a much as someone yelling at me for no reason other than their ignorance. For some reason, it really irritated me more than usual that morning.
I stopped at the red light on Pratt Ave., giving the appropriate hand signal of elbow out, left hand down and out to show I am stopping or stopped. I then give the appropriate turning signal of left hand raised and bent at the elbow to to indicate a right turn (note: the state may start allowing use of right arm straight out for right turn signals as it’s clearer on a bike, as hand signals were developed for automobiles whose blinkers weren’t working.)
Driving my bicycle down Andrew Jackson Way, I saw the same black car at a convenience store. I pulled in behind and took a photo of his License tag: AT0008AY

“Can I help you with something?” the dark haired chunky guy with a mustache asked, carrying chips in one hand, a soda in the other. ‘He was speeding and driving recklessly for that?’ I thought.
I just replied, “Thought I saw something.” Then started to Thai Garden for lunch.
Waiting for traffic to clear off of Andrew Jackson Way, his car pulled up behind me and I heard him say, “Huh. Share the road. Okay, I get it.”
I told Devon about it when I got home and she said, “Guess you taught him a lesson.” To which I replied, “Huh?” thinking she was talking about fighting which was something I expressly avoided as much as I wanted to.
“You did. You taught him a lesson.”
“Oh. You mean an actual lesson.”
“Yup.”

Leave a comment